Close Dropdown
Sign In
    About the Award
    The Distinguished Alumna Award is given by the Alumnae Association Council to a Foxcroft School alumna who exemplifies one or more of the following criteria:
    • she has been a pioneer in her field;
    • she has made an outstanding contribution to her field of interest;
    • she has received local and/or national recognition of achievement;
    • she has demonstrated dedication through length of service;
    • she has demonstrated interest and concern in civic-minded affairs; 
    • and she has served as a role model to others.
    Only 21 women have received this great honor since it was established in 1985.
    Barbara Hartley Lord '41 Receives Distinguished Alumna Award
    *Editor's Note: Barbara Hartley Lord '41 passed away peacefully in her home on Saturday, April 30. Though deeply saddened by the news, we are grateful that Mrs. Lord took joy in receiving the Distinguished Alumna Award and thankful that we were able to honor her lifetime of compassion and commitment. Our deepest sympathy is with her family at this time.

    Honoring a devoted community leader, who was guided by her undersanding heart.

    Barbara Hartley Lord '41, whose compassion, commitment and contributions to community changed the lives of some people and inspired charity in others, was named the 2016 recipient of Foxcroft School’s Distinguished Alumna Award Saturday (April 16) at a special luncheon in Engelhard Gymnasium.
    Read More
    More Distinguished Alumna News
    Distinguished Alumna Nomination
    Do you know of someone who should be considered for the Distinguished Alumna Award?  Click on the link above to nominate an individual who meets the outlined criteria. Please take note, below. We are receiving nominations on a rolling basis for 2016.
    Distinguished Alumnae Award Recipients

    2015: Suzanne "Sukie" Kuser '49

    2011: Suzy Townsend Purrington ‘56

    2002/2003: Diana Hardin Walker ’59

    2001: Frances FitzGerald ’58

    2000: Helen Kleberg Groves ’45

    1999: Elizabeth Fly Rohatyn ’48

    1998: Dorrance Hill Hamilton ’46

    1997: Mary Starr Carstensen ’67

    1996: Elsie Vanderbilt Aidinoff ’48

    1995: Mary Frances Penney Wagley ’44

    1994: Ruth du Pont Lord ’39

    1993: Frances Stevens Reese ’35

    1992: Anna Roosevelt ’64

    1991: Gertrude Sanford Legendre ’20

    1990: Elizabeth Nitze Paepcke ’21

    1989: Nancy Carnegie Rockefeller ’19

    1988: Anne Legendre Armstrong ’45

    1987: Rachel Lambert Mellon ’29

    1986: Millicent Hammond Fenwick ’25

    1985: Nancy Perkins Lancaster ’15